Composed in 1899 in Firenze; dedicated to the Quartetto Fiorentino; premiered (perhaps by the dedicatees), and published (by Carisch & Jänichen of Leipzig, and also by Ernst Eulenburg) in 1901.
See IMSLP for more information about this work.
The following midis were transcribed by Robert Lim and are used with his permission.
I. Allegretto moderato appassionato. 1
II. Scherzo. Grazioso. 2 B-flat major.
III. Adagio. 3 D major.
IV. Finale. Allegro vivo. 4 g minor.